

2909 Fairgreen Street Orlando, FL 32803 USA 321-319-4860, Fax: (407) 893-9890 AAOptom@AAOptom.org • www.aaopt.org

> For Immediate Release July 6, 2017 Contact: Jenny Brown JennyB@aaoptom.org

American Academy of Optometry Announces 2017 Award Recipients

Each year the American Academy of Optometry recognizes distinguished individuals who have made countless contributions to advancing the profession of optometry.

"Serving on the Awards Committee may be the most humbling yet exhilarating Academy service I have ever had the privilege to do. This year's nominees were wonderful examples of dedication to vision research, vision care, education, and improvement of the visual welfare of all. It was a very difficult task selecting awardees from this list of accomplished people. Every nominee represents the best of what the American Academy of Optometry and the American Academy of Optometry Foundation hope to inspire in all of us. Many thanks to those who submitted nominations, and to those who served on the awards committee.," remarked Donald O. Mutti, OD, PhD, FAAO, Awards Committee Chair.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2017 award recipients:

Eli Peli, MSc, OD, FAAO Charles F. Prentice Medal and Lecture Award

Mitchell Scheiman, OD, PhD, FAAO

Glenn A. Fry Award and Lecture (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Ava K. Bittner, OD, PhD, FAAO

Irvin M. and Beatrice Borish Award

Luigi Bilotto, MS, OD, FAAO

AAO-Essilor Award for Outstanding International Contributions to Optometry

C. Ellis Potter, OD, FAAO

Brien Holden Humanitarian Award

Joseph Fontenot, MD, CLVT

Carel C. Koch Memorial Medal Award

Laura Goldberg, OD, MS Celia R. Gong

Julius F. Neumueller Award in Optics (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

> Affiliate Organization American Academy of Optometry Foundation

Richard Madonna, MA, OD, FAAO

Vincent Ellerbrock Clinician Educator Award

Harue J. Marsden, OD, MS, FAAO

(posthumously) Eminent Service Award

Bert C. Corwin, OD, FAAO Avrum Richler, OD, PhD, FAAO Life Fellow Award

Jeffrey J. Walline, OD, PhD, FAAO, Katie L. Greiner, OD, MS, FAAO, Mary Elizabeth McVey, OD, MS, Lisa A. Jones-Jordan, PhD, FAAO

Garland W. Clay Award

Lorraine Lombardi, PhD

Michael G. Harris Award for Excellence in Optometric Education (American Academy of Optometry Foundation Award)

Awards of the Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses & Refractive Technologies

Suzanne M.J. Fleiszig, OD, PhD, FAAO

Max Schapero Memorial Lecture Award

Lynette Johns, OD, FAAO, FSLS

Founders' Award

Award winners will be recognized at the Academy 2017 Chicago Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 13, 8:00-10:00 AM, in E351 & E352 of McCormick Place. Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies award recipients will be honored at 4:00 PM on Wednesday, October 11 in Room E351. Information on the Public Health and Environmental Vision Section Henry B. Peters Award is forthcoming.

The American Academy of Optometry's annual meeting, Academy 2017 Chicago, will take place October 11-14, 2017, at McCormick Place in Chicago, Illinois. For more information, visit http://www.aaopt.org/regsite.

###